The Jefferson County Tourism Council honored the “best of Jefferson County” nominees on Thursday evening, March 24, at the JC Plaza Hotel & Convention Center in Johnson Creek.

Nominations were accepted through January 31, 2011 for this honor, and names were submitted for people who put the smile in doing business in Jefferson County. These candidate believe in, promote, and go “above and beyond” in the promotion of tourism for Jefferson County. They also demonstrate caring, empathy, love of service and a spirit of unparalleled giving.

The list of nominees was whittled down to three top winners:

  • 1st Place – Donna Ganser of Culvers in Johnson Creek ($500 American Express gift card; 4 brunch certificates and overnight romance package from the JC Plaza Hotel)
  • 2nd Place – Becky Mehringer of Jelli’s Market in Helenville (4 brunch certificates and an overnight romance package from the JC Plaza Hotel)
  • 3rd Place – Gail Zastrow of the Jefferson County Fair Grounds (4 brunch certificates to the JC Plaza Hotel)

Thanks go to everyone who submitted names to this wonderful event – we are looking forward to honoring more great Jefferson County ambassadors next year!

Other nominees included: Edna DeWitt (Calico Cottage/Watertown); Mindy Bartz (Hi-Way Harry’s/Johnson Creek); Barbara Voss (Ephraim Faience Pottery/Lake Mills); Rosemary Wedel (Classic Creation Floral and Creme/Waterloo); Kris Nagle (JC Plaza Hotel & Convention Center/Johnson Creek); Katie Otto (The Write Approach/Lake Mills); Michael Morrissey (Young Auditorium/Whitewater); Hope Oostdik (Dutch Designs/Lake Mills); Allen Keinbaum (Koshkonong Mounds Country Club/Fort Atkinson); and Lynn Natvig (Fort Atkinson Area Chamber of Commerce).

Pictured above (first row, L-R): Becky Mehringer, 2nd place; Donna Ganser, 1st place; Gail Zastrow, 3rd place.
(Back row – Jefferson County Tourism Council Executive Board, L-R): Connie Oestreich (Secretary); Kate Anderson (Vice President); Steve Kline (President); Janet Werner (Treasurer).

Katie Otto is a freelance writer who provides JCTC with some spectacular content and information. She's previously held the role of Secretary for the Jefferson County Tourism Council, has assembled our Monthly Newsletter and was the Executive Director for the Lake Mills Main Street Program, a non-profit community organization that is dedicated to the preservation, growth and vitality of Lake Mills through public events and active community involvement.